AVO Logo
Site Map | FAQ |
Alaska Volcano Observatory
Summary | Color Code Definitions | Webcams | Webicorders | RSAM | Activity Notifications | Notification Search | Cleveland | Semisopochnoi | Shishaldin | Veniaminof 
You are here: Home > Current Volcanic Activity

AVO VOLCANO ACTIVITY NOTIFICATION

ALASKA VOLCANO OBSERVATORY DAILY UPDATE
U.S. Geological Survey
Thursday, January 26, 2017, 11:55 AM AKST (Thursday, January 26, 2017, 20:55 UTC)


BOGOSLOF VOLCANO (VNUM #311300)
53°55'38" N 168°2'4" W, Summit Elevation 492 ft (150 m)
Current Volcano Alert Level: WARNING
Current Aviation Color Code: RED

An explosive eruption of Bogoslof occurred at 06:50 AKST (15:50 UTC) this morning and produced a volcanic cloud that reached as high as 30,000 to 32,000 ft asl. Elevated seismicity was detected at about 01:34 AKST (10:24 UTC), increasing to levels commensurate with eruptive activity at 06:50 AKST (15:50 UTC), and then followed by a larger burst of seismicity at 07:06 AKST (16:06 UTC) and lasting for several minutes. Since then, seismic activity has declined to low levels. The volcanic cloud was first observed in satellite data at 07:00 AKST (16:00 UTC) and drifted southeast at lower altitudes, and to the northeast at altitudes above about 20,000 ft asl. After about 09:00 AKST (18:00 UTC) the volcanic cloud was no longer evident in satellite data. The cloud was similar to previously generated volcanic clouds and appeared to be ice-rich, but likely contained some amount of volcanic ash.

Bogoslof volcano remains at a heightened state of unrest and in an unpredictable condition. Additional explosions accompanied by volcanic clouds could occur at any time.

AVO has no ground-based volcano monitoring equipment on Bogoslof volcano. We continue to monitor satellite images, information from the Worldwide Lightning Location Network pertaining to volcanic-cloud lightning, and data from seismic and infrasound instruments on nearby islands for indications of volcanic activity.


TAKAWANGHA VOLCANO (VNUM #311090)
51°52'1" N 178°1'37" W, Summit Elevation 4754 ft (1449 m)
Current Volcano Alert Level: ADVISORY
Current Aviation Color Code: YELLOW

The energetic earthquake swarm on Tanaga Island that began on January 24, 2017 is ongoing but at a diminished level. Earthquakes continue to be located within 6 to 7 km of Takawangha Volcano. The seismicity has waxed and waned over the past 24 hours. No volcanic activity has been detected at the volcano in satellite data.

CLEVELAND VOLCANO (VNUM #311240)
52°49'20" N 169°56'42" W, Summit Elevation 5676 ft (1730 m)
Current Volcano Alert Level: ADVISORY
Current Aviation Color Code: YELLOW

Nothing of note has been observed in cloudy satellite and web camera views of Cleveland volcano over the past day. No significant activity was observed in seismic or pressure sensor data during the past 24 hours.

PAVLOF VOLCANO (VNUM #312030)
55°25'2" N 161°53'37" W, Summit Elevation 8261 ft (2518 m)
Current Volcano Alert Level: ADVISORY
Current Aviation Color Code: YELLOW

Nothing significant was detected in seismic or pressure sensor data during the past 24 hours. Views of the volcano in satellite and web camera data have been obscured by clouds over the past day.

The degree of unrest at Pavlof can change quickly. A return to eruptive activity can occur with with little or no warning.


OTHER ALASKA VOLCANOES

Other Alaska volcanoes show no signs of significant unrest: http://www.avo.alaska.edu/activity/

AVO scientists conduct daily checks of earthquake activity at all seismically-monitored volcanoes, examine web camera and satellite images for evidence of airborne ash and elevated surface temperatures, and consult other monitoring data as needed.

For definitions of Aviation Color Codes and Volcano Alert Levels, see: http://www.avo.alaska.edu/color_codes.php

FOR MORE INFORMATION ON ALASKA VOLCANOES: http://www.avo.alaska.edu

SUBSCRIBE TO VOLCANO ALERT MESSAGES by email: http://volcanoes.usgs.gov/vns/

FOLLOW AVO ON FACEBOOK: https://facebook.com/alaska.avo

FOLLOW AVO ON TWITTER: https://twitter.com/alaska.avo

CONTACT INFORMATION:

Michelle Coombs, Scientist-in-Charge, USGS
mcoombs@usgs.gov (907) 786-7497

Jessica Larsen, Acting Coordinating Scientist, UAF
jflarsen@alaska.edu (907) 322-4085

The Alaska Volcano Observatory is a cooperative program of the U.S. Geological Survey, the University of Alaska Fairbanks Geophysical Institute, and the Alaska Division of Geological and Geophysical Surveys.
Contact AVO Privacy Accessibility Information Quality FOIA
URL: avo.alaska.edu/activity/report.php
Page modified: December 2, 2016 10:12
Contact Information: AVO Web Team

twitter @alaska_avo
facebook alaska.avo
email Receive volcano updates by email: USGS VNS

This website is supported by the U.S. Geological Survey under Cooperative Agreement Grant G19AC00060 and G19AC00171.

Mention of trade names or commercial products does not constitute their endorsement by the U.S. Geological Survey.