AVO Logo
Site Map | FAQ |
Alaska Volcano Observatory
Summary | Color Code Definitions | Webcams | Webicorders | RSAM | Activity Notifications | Notification Search | Cleveland | Pavlof 
You are here: Home > Current Volcanic Activity

AVO VOLCANO ACTIVITY NOTIFICATION

ALASKA VOLCANO OBSERVATORY DAILY UPDATE
U.S. Geological Survey
Tuesday, December 31, 2013, 10:27 AM AKST (Tuesday, December 31, 2013, 19:27 UTC)


VENIAMINOF VOLCANO (VNUM #312070)
56°11'52" N 159°23'35" W, Summit Elevation 8225 ft (2507 m)
Current Volcano Alert Level: ADVISORY
Current Aviation Color Code: YELLOW

Seismicity at Veniaminof remains slightly above background. Possible steam plume observed at the intracaldera cone at 03:08 UTC, 31 Dec. 2013. Web camera and more recent satellite images obscured by clouds.


CLEVELAND VOLCANO (VNUM #311240)
52°49'20" N 169°56'42" W, Summit Elevation 5676 ft (1730 m)
Current Volcano Alert Level: ADVISORY
Current Aviation Color Code: YELLOW

A brief explosion from Cleveland Volcano was detected at 4:06 UTC Dec. 31 (19:06 AKST, Dec. 30). A satellite image available about 3 hours after the explosion showed nothing unusual and no ash was detected. Subsequent satellite images showed extensive cloud cover over the volcano and no thermal signals were observed. Last nights explosion was similar to the explosion detected at 21:29 UTC December 28 (12:29 AKST).

Similar such explosions from the summit vent of Cleveland Volcano may continue without warning. These explosions may produce minor ash clouds that are not expected to extend much beyond the volcano, but could produce local fallout on the flanks of Cleveland Volcano and parts of Chuginadak Island. It is possible that a more energetic explosion could occur that may produce a more significant ash cloud which should be evident in satellite data. AVO has received no reports of activity from local observers over the past 24 hours.


VOLCANO INFORMATION ON THE INTERNET: http://www.avo.alaska.edu
RECORDING ON THE STATUS OF ALASKA'S VOLCANOES (907) 786-7478

CONTACT INFORMATION:

Chris Waythomas, Acting Scientist-in-Charge, USGS
chris@usgs.gov (907) 786-7497

Pavel Izbekov, Acting Coordinating Scientist, UAFGI
pavel@gi.alaska.edu (907) 322-4085

The Alaska Volcano Observatory is a cooperative program of the U.S. Geological Survey, the University of Alaska Fairbanks Geophysical Institute, and the Alaska Division of Geological and Geophysical Surveys.
Contact AVO Privacy Accessibility Information Quality FOIA
URL: avo.alaska.edu/activity/report.php
Page modified: December 2, 2016 10:12
Contact Information: AVO Web Team

twitter @alaska_avo
facebook alaska.avo
email Receive volcano updates by email: USGS VNS