AVO Logo
Site Map | FAQ |
Alaska Volcano Observatory
Summary | Color Code Definitions | Webcams | Webicorders | RSAM | Activity Notifications | Notification Search | Great Sitkin | Semisopochnoi | Takawangha 
You are here: Home > Current Volcanic Activity

AVO VOLCANO ACTIVITY NOTIFICATION

ALASKA VOLCANO OBSERVATORY STATUS REPORT
U.S. Geological Survey
Monday, August 7, 2017, 1:41 PM AKDT (Monday, August 7, 2017, 21:41 UTC)


BOGOSLOF VOLCANO (VNUM #311300)
53°55'38" N 168°2'4" W, Summit Elevation 492 ft (150 m)
Current Volcano Alert Level: WARNING
Current Aviation Color Code: RED

The explosive eruption that began this morning at about 10:00 AM AKDT (18:00 UTC) continued through about 13:00 AKDT (21:00 UTC) as indicated in seismic, infrasound, satellite, and lightning data. Since that time, seismic and infrasound activity have declined, but are still above background. Low-level ash emissions may still be occurring, and could intensify again at any time.

Today's eruption is longer-lived than most of the events in the eruptive sequence that started in December 2016. Satellite images show that ash from the eruption is forming a continuous cloud, still attached at the volcano, that is being carried by strong winds south over Umnak Island and then out over the Pacific. The National Weather Service Alaska Aviation Weather Unit has issued a SIGMET warning message to aviation for the volcanic cloud up to an altitude of 34,000 ft asl.

The Aviation Color Code remains at RED and the Alert Level remains at WARNING.


Please see the National Weather Service Alaska Aviation Weather Unit web page for updated information on the volcanic cloud forecast. https://www.weather.gov/aawu/sigmets

OTHER ALASKA VOLCANOES

Information on all Alaska volcanoes is available at : http://www.avo.alaska.edu.

For definitions of Aviation Color Codes and Volcano Alert Levels, see: http://www.avo.alaska.edu/color_codes.php

SUBSCRIBE TO VOLCANO ALERT MESSAGES by email: http://volcanoes.usgs.gov/vns/

FOLLOW AVO ON FACEBOOK: https://facebook.com/alaska.avo

FOLLOW AVO ON TWITTER: https://twitter.com/alaska_avo

CONTACT INFORMATION:

Michelle Coombs, Scientist-in-Charge, USGS
mcoombs@usgs.gov (907) 786-7497

David Fee, Acting Coordinating Scientist, UAFGI
dfee1@alaska.edu (907) 322-4085

The Alaska Volcano Observatory is a cooperative program of the U.S. Geological Survey, the University of Alaska Fairbanks Geophysical Institute, and the Alaska Division of Geological and Geophysical Surveys.
Contact AVO Privacy Accessibility Information Quality FOIA
URL: avo.alaska.edu/activity/report.php
Page modified: December 2, 2016 10:12
Contact Information: AVO Web Team

twitter @alaska_avo
facebook alaska.avo
email Receive volcano updates by email: USGS VNS

This website is supported by the U.S. Geological Survey under Cooperative Agreement Grant G22AC00137

Mention of trade names or commercial products does not constitute their endorsement by the U.S. Geological Survey.