AVO Logo
Site Map | FAQ |
Alaska Volcano Observatory
Summary | Color Code Definitions | Webcams | Webicorders | RSAM | Activity Notifications | Notification Search | Great Sitkin | Semisopochnoi | Takawangha 
You are here: Home > Current Volcanic Activity

AVO VOLCANO ACTIVITY NOTIFICATION

ALASKA VOLCANO OBSERVATORY STATUS REPORT
U.S. Geological Survey
Thursday, January 26, 2017, 8:28 AM AKST (Thursday, January 26, 2017, 17:28 UTC)


BOGOSLOF VOLCANO (VNUM #311300)
53°55'38" N 168°2'4" W, Summit Elevation 492 ft (150 m)
Current Volcano Alert Level: WARNING
Current Aviation Color Code: RED

The explosive eruption that began at 06:50 AKST (15:50 UTC) this morning produced a volcanic cloud that reached as high as 30,000 ft asl. The cloud was first observed in satellite at 07:00 AKST (16:00 UTC), and is now spreading towards the southeast at lower altitudes, and to the northeast at altitudes above about 20,000 ft asl. The cloud is ice-rich, but likely contains volcanic ash. This event appears similar in size to others in the ongoing eruptive sequence.

The Aviation Color Code remains at RED and the Alert Level remains at WARNING.

Status of the ash cloud can be found at the Alaska Aviation Weather Unit website at http://aawu.arh.noaa.gov/
No ash fall is expected in Dutch Harbor/Unalaska.

Since the eruption, detected seismicity is back to low levels, though further activity could occur with little or no warning. AVO has no ground-based volcano monitoring equipment on Bogoslof volcano. We continue to monitor satellite images, data from distant seismic and infrasound instruments, and information from the Worldwide Lightning Location Network for indications of significant activity.


For definitions of Aviation Color Codes and Volcano Alert Levels, see: http://www.avo.alaska.edu/color_codes.php

FOR MORE INFORMATION ON ALASKA VOLCANOES: http://www.avo.alaska.edu

SUBSCRIBE TO VOLCANO ALERT MESSAGES by email: http://volcanoes.usgs.gov/vns/

FOLLOW AVO ON FACEBOOK: https://facebook.com/alaska.avo

FOLLOW AVO ON TWITTER: https://twitter.com/alaska.avo

CONTACT INFORMATION:

Michelle Coombs, Scientist-in-Charge, USGS
mcoombs@usgs.gov (907) 786-7497

Jessica Larsen, Acting Coordinating Scientist, UAF
jflarsen@alaska.edu (907) 322-4085

The Alaska Volcano Observatory is a cooperative program of the U.S. Geological Survey, the University of Alaska Fairbanks Geophysical Institute, and the Alaska Division of Geological and Geophysical Surveys.
Contact AVO Privacy Accessibility Information Quality FOIA
URL: avo.alaska.edu/activity/report.php
Page modified: December 2, 2016 10:12
Contact Information: AVO Web Team

twitter @alaska_avo
facebook alaska.avo
email Receive volcano updates by email: USGS VNS

This website is supported by the U.S. Geological Survey under Cooperative Agreement Grant G22AC00137

Mention of trade names or commercial products does not constitute their endorsement by the U.S. Geological Survey.