AVO Logo
Site Map | FAQ |
Alaska Volcano Observatory
Summary | Color Code Definitions | Webcams | Webicorders | RSAM | Activity Notifications | Notification Search | Cleveland | Semisopochnoi | Shishaldin | Veniaminof 
You are here: Home > Current Volcanic Activity

AVO VOLCANO ACTIVITY NOTIFICATION

ALASKA VOLCANO OBSERVATORY STATUS REPORT
U.S. Geological Survey
Saturday, October 3, 2009, 12:16 PM AKDT (Saturday, October 3, 2009, 20:16 UTC)


CLEVELAND VOLCANO (VNUM #311240)
52°49'20" N 169°56'42" W, Summit Elevation 5676 ft (1730 m)
Current Volcano Alert Level: WATCH
Current Aviation Color Code: ORANGE

Satellite data indicate that Cleveland volcano erupted briefly this morning at ~0730 UTC (2330 AKDT) 02 October 2009, producing a small, detached ash cloud that drifted northeast of the volcano at maximum altitudes of 15,000' to 20,000' (4.5 - 6.1 km) . AVO increased the aviation color code to Orange, and the volcano alert level to Watch at 02:29 AKDT (10:29 UTC) this morning. Satellite views until about 6:45 AKDT (14:45 UTC) show that the ash cloud drifted northeast about 600 km (373 mi) and dispersed over the Bering Sea. While no more events have been detected this morning, further eruptive activity is possible.

The lack of a real-time seismic network at Cleveland means that AVO is unable to track local earthquake activity related to volcanic unrest. Short-lived explosions with ash plumes that could exceed 20,000 ft above sea level can occur without warning and may go undetected on satellite imagery.


SHISHALDIN VOLCANO (VNUM #311360)
54°45'19" N 163°58'16" W, Summit Elevation 9373 ft (2857 m)
Current Volcano Alert Level: ADVISORY
Current Aviation Color Code: YELLOW

Seismic activity at Shishaldin remains low. Partly cloudy webcam and satellite views show no unusual activity this week.



CONTACT INFORMATION:

Stephanie Prejean, Acting Scientist-in-Charge, USGS
sprejean@usgs.gov (907) 786-7497

Steve McNutt, Coordinating Scientist, UAF
steve@giseis.alaska.edu (907) 474-7131

The Alaska Volcano Observatory is a cooperative program of the U.S. Geological Survey, the University of Alaska Fairbanks Geophysical Institute, and the Alaska Division of Geological and Geophysical Surveys.
Contact AVO Privacy Accessibility Information Quality FOIA
URL: avo.alaska.edu/activity/report.php
Page modified: December 2, 2016 10:12
Contact Information: AVO Web Team

twitter @alaska_avo
facebook alaska.avo
email Receive volcano updates by email: USGS VNS

This website is supported by the U.S. Geological Survey under Cooperative Agreement Grant G19AC00060 and G19AC00171.

Mention of trade names or commercial products does not constitute their endorsement by the U.S. Geological Survey.