AVO Logo
Site Map | FAQ |
Alaska Volcano Observatory
Summary | Color Code Definitions | Webcams | Webicorders | RSAM | Activity Notifications | Notification Search | Cleveland | Semisopochnoi | Shishaldin | Veniaminof 
You are here: Home > Current Volcanic Activity

AVO VOLCANO ACTIVITY NOTIFICATION

ALASKA VOLCANO OBSERVATORY STATUS REPORT
U.S. Geological Survey
Sunday, January 25, 2009, 11:58 AM AKST (Sunday, January 25, 2009, 20:58 UTC)


REDOUBT VOLCANO (VNUM #313030)
60°29'7" N 152°44'38" W, Summit Elevation 10197 ft (3108 m)
Current Volcano Alert Level: WATCH
Current Aviation Color Code: ORANGE

Over the past 48 hours, seismic activity at Redoubt Volcano has increased markedly. Beginning at 00:58 AKT (9:58 UTC) this morning, nearly continuous volcanic tremor was recorded at stations near Redoubt's summit, prompting AVO to raise the Aviation Color Code to ORANGE and the Alert Level to WATCH at 02:09 AKT (11:09 UTC). Seismicity began to decline at about 05:30 AKT (14:30 UTC) this morning, but, as of this writing, still remains well above background levels. AVO plans to fly an observation flight of the volcano this afternoon, weather permitting.

The current activity at Redoubt could be precursory to an eruption, perhaps within hours to days. A further increase in seismicity is expected to accompany an eruption. There is no indication that the volcano is currently erupting.

At this time, clouds obscure the volcano in satellite views, but NEXRAD weather radar data show no signs eruptive activity. AVO has received no recent observer reports. Staff are currently monitoring the volcano 24 hours a day.

AVO raised the Aviation Color Code to YELLOW and the Volcano Alert Level to ADVISORY on November 5, 2008, in response to increased emissions of SO2, H2S, and CO2; melting of snow and ice near the volcano’s summit; and a subtle increase in seismicity. These observations reflected a change in the volcano’s hydrothermal system, possibly associated with an influx of new magma beneath the volcano. It is also possible that the change was related to the development of a new pathway of heated fluids rising from magma intruded during the 1989-90 eruption.



SHISHALDIN VOLCANO (VNUM #311360)
54°45'19" N 163°58'16" W, Summit Elevation 9373 ft (2857 m)
Current Volcano Alert Level: ADVISORY
Current Aviation Color Code: YELLOW

Satellite views of Shishaldin remain cloud and snow and ice still obscure the volcano in the web camera images. Seismicity at Shishaldin remains unchanged over the last 24 hours.




CLEVELAND VOLCANO (VNUM #311240)
52°49'20" N 169°56'42" W, Summit Elevation 5676 ft (1730 m)
Current Volcano Alert Level: ADVISORY
Current Aviation Color Code: YELLOW

Satellite views of Cleveland were cloudy today. AVO has received no other reports about Cleveland in the last 24 hours.

VOLCANO INFORMATION ON THE INTERNET: http://www.avo.alaska.edu

RECORDING ON THE STATUS OF ALASKA'S VOLCANOES (907) 786-7478

CONTACT INFORMATION:

Tom Murray, Scientist-in-Charge, USGS
tlmurray@usgs.gov (907) 786-7497

Steve McNutt, Coordinating Scientist, UAF
steve@giseis.alaska.edu (907) 474-7131

The Alaska Volcano Observatory is a cooperative program of the U.S. Geological Survey, the University of Alaska Fairbanks Geophysical Institute, and the Alaska Division of Geological and Geophysical Surveys.
Contact AVO Privacy Accessibility Information Quality FOIA
URL: avo.alaska.edu/activity/report.php
Page modified: December 2, 2016 10:12
Contact Information: AVO Web Team

twitter @alaska_avo
facebook alaska.avo
email Receive volcano updates by email: USGS VNS

This website is supported by the U.S. Geological Survey under Cooperative Agreement Grant G19AC00060 and G19AC00171.

Mention of trade names or commercial products does not constitute their endorsement by the U.S. Geological Survey.